Kristina

12 Aug

Kristina. Astrologer. The brand new door plate looks nice. Shiny. Can’t help smiling every morning when I get here. It’s me. My office. And my job. Yep.

Some people might call me a crook. I rather consider myself as a dream seller. It’s an interesting balance between telling the customer what he wants to hear and saying what he already knows, the art being in making it not sound obvious. It has to come as a revelation, from the other person, not as a given from me. Subtle. Managing a bit of suspense, planting some obstacles in the way of the conclusion. Quest designer, that’s what I am. Lighting up little parcels of randomness that shine like the white pebbles in the fairy tale, guiding people on the way of life. Make people spot them, recognize them as signs and walk the way with a lighter heart.

And make a bit of money, too, sure. Just enough to rent the attic upstairs, that perfect take off place for my own dreams: looking out of the windows and watching other people’s lives under the tin roofs, in the fancy apartments below the maid’s rooms, down in the street where they hurry in all directions like busy ants or linger on benches. Imagining their life’s stories, over and over again.

Astrologer is not an easy job, but it’s fun and very creative: it’s like living a hundred stories a week and working on a better ending. Time to start my day! Getting my morning tea while waiting for the first client. Early clients are always special. And here she comes. A woman, in her 50s. She looks grey as if the light has been switched off her. Betting on a love story, I look at her very carefully. Her big blue eyes. My heart skips a beat. She talks. I can’t make much sense of what she says, hypnotized by these blue eyes. Picking up some keywords. Child. Gone. Left without a note. She has looked everywhere. Now trying this. Why not? Sure, why not. Let’s see. Focus on your runaway child and pick up a card. The sun, good! She’s happy and shining away. No evil befell her. She’s fine, no worries. Why does she not call or write? Send some kind of message? Second card. Hermit. She needs some time on her own to build peace and confidence again. To follow up with her story. Something happened and she’s got to digest it. Give her time.

The woman is lost in her past now. Dreaming away. When she gets back to the present, she seems to wake up. Her eyes fall on my blue eyes. And she understands. I can feel her heart skipping a beat. She opens her mouth but closes it, respecting my decision. She knows and I know that she knows but she lets me do the first step if I’m ready. No hostility, no offended pain, only hope. Hope that happiness would flow again, as easy and generous as the morning sun in summer. Right. It’s time for summer to come back.

Hi Mum, missed you too!

2 Responses to “Kristina”

  1. ingridf August 14, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    I love this… and I love the line you introduced it with… “Some people might call me a crook. I rather consider myself as a dream seller. “

  2. Ashley Moore August 16, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Cool. I also love the justification for her job.

Leave a Reply

