behind the scenes by juleshg

20 Jun

Lindsay closed her menu and looked up at the handsome young waiter with a smile.  “I’m waiting for someone to join me but I will have a glass of house wine in the meantime.”

“Of course,” he said with a polite smile.  A little older than I usually date but she is definitely hot.  I wonder who she is waiting for….

Lindsay smiled as she watched him walk away.  Well, this was certainly an interesting turn of events.

When she had fallen in the shower this morning and hit her head on the edge of the tub Lindsay had not counted on it being a good day.  In fact, as she sat naked on her bathroom floor with black spots floating in front of her eyes she had envisioned herself spending the better part of the day in an ER waiting room.  But her vision cleared up quickly and she was surprised that she had only the smallest of bumps on her forehead.

She first noticed that something was different while she was in the elevator.  Mrs. Carmicheal from next door got on with her without as much as a nod.  That was not unusual; the woman had not spoken a single word to her since she moved in with Peter shortly after his divorce a year ago.  Her disapproval for the younger woman however, needed no words.

Little trollop, look at that skirt.  Imagine a woman her age showing so much leg on her way to work.  Homewrecker…

Lindsay looked up at the old woman but she was still staring intently at the numbers on the elevator.  Lindsay shook her head trying to clear her thoughts.  Had she imagined that?  Maybe she had hit her head harder than she thought.

As she walked through the mall she realized that she was hearing much more than she usually did.  Today, she was hearing everything – every thought.

Damn it, if I open the shop late again today I am going to be fired for sure.

I hope the paycheques are deposited today.  If not, my rent cheque is going to bounce.

Geez, could this woman in front of me walk any slower?

Look at that blonde, she is pretty enough I guess but she could stand to lose a few pounds.

Clearly, Lindsay was going to have to develop a thicker skin if this gift lasted much longer.

When she arrived at the boutique she shut the door behind her and took a deep breath enjoying the silence.  One of the advantages of being manager was having her own key so she could get in first and open without her co-worker’s chatter. As she counted out the money in the float from the previous night she began to think about her new abilities.  Her thoughts immediately went to her husband Peter and his bimbo paralegal Kimberly.  She had long suspected that there was something going on between the two but had never been able to find any proof.  Maybe this was a gift….  She grabbed her cell from her purse and dialled his number.  “Peter Lahann please…”

Lindsay looked up from her menu to see Peter approaching the table.  He came over and kissed her on the top of the head before taking the seat across from her.

“Lindsay, this is such a nice surprise.  I never get to see you through the day.  How did you get away from the store?”  Damn it I hope this does not become a regular occurrence.  That is why I let you take the job in that ridiculous boutique in the first place.

“Well, sweetie.  I missed you and decided to call in Jenna to come in early to relieve me.  What’s the point of being manager if you can’t get a few perks,” Lindsay said with a smile.  “Plus, I was thinking this morning that we just don’t spend enough time together. Maybe I should quit my job at the store so I can dedicate more of my time to you.”

She watched Peter closely as she spoke.  His expression did not change at all as he listened to her talk but she knew he was not happy with that announcement.

“Lindsay, you love your job.  Plus what would you do at home all day by yourself?  I work long hours and I travel so much.  I would hate to see you sitting around bored and waiting for me.”  Shit, the last thing I need is her waiting around for me and calling at the office to see where I am and when I am coming home.

“What if I went on some of your trips with you?” Lindsay suggested with a smile.  “You do have a trip to Boston coming up next week.”

“A work trip.  Between the law office and my computer in my hotel room I barely have enough time to watch the late news, let alone to have a romantic dinner with my lovely wife.” Kimberly is going to have a fit if Lindsay shows up in Boston.  She has been planning this get-away for weeks.  Anyway, I am getting too old to sneak around and have sex in the supply room.

At that moment, Lindsay was not sure if she should be devastated by her husband’s infidelity or relieved she finally knew the truth.  As she lifted the menu to hide her face from Peter she felt both emotions bubbling quickly to the surface.  She knew her marriage was over but she was not going down without a fight. She would not end up like Susan – cast away and fighting for her fair share of the money that Peter had earned during their marriage.

Resolved, Lindsay  lowered her menu and looked Peter in the eye.  “Maybe this is the perfect time for us to start a family.  Ever since my sister had Amy last summer I have been aching to have a baby of my own.  And, you are so good with Sara.  I know how you miss her when she is at Susan’s all week.”

Peter’s firm grip on his emotions almost slipped.  “I don’t know Lindsay.  A baby is something that we really need to talk about first.  It’s not a spur-of-the-moment thing.”  Oh my God, I am already fending off one ex-wife and her expensive kid.  I can’t start over again with Lindsay and another mouth to feed.

Lindsay smiled. “You’re right Peter.  There are a lot of things to consider.”

As the waiter came over and took their lunch orders Lindsay began to plan.  First, she was going to take that trip to Boston and see for herself just how much time Peter had for romantic dinners when it was Kimberly who was sharing his room.  Then, she was going to call Susan.  Peter’s ex-wife may not like her now but by the time she was done she would earn the woman’s respect.

We first met Lindsay in week 2 when she first got her job at the boutique.

This lunch date with Peter takes place one week before The Delivery.

2 Responses to “behind the scenes by juleshg”

  1. ingridfnl June 27, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    Oh my! This would be the hardest superpower to have… It would open up so much insecurity! And in this case, I do think it is better than Lindsay knows. I would want to know.

    Great story.

  2. juleshg June 29, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    I would also want to know but would HATE to know what people were thinking. Let’s face it people are rarely kind with what they say — I can only imagine what they don’t have the nerve to say outloud. I would be a wreck by the end of day one.

Leave a Reply

