turning blue by ingridfnl

13 Jun

“Hello? Linda speaking.” Linda knew her cell phone should be off. She was teaching after all… if you can call sprinkling glitter on gluey paper teaching, she thought.

“It’s me,” he said.

“Miss James, Miss James.” Linda looked down to see little Lukas pulling on her pant leg with sticky fingers.

“What is it?” she asked.

Simultaneously the voice on her cell phone and the small boy’s voice answered. “I’m-Timmy-sorry-is eating-about-glue-last-again-night,” they said. They continued, “I’m-He’s-just-sucking-not-on-sure-the-if-paintbrush-I’m-too-ready. His-I-mouth-am-is-scared-blue.”

“Look,” she said to the cell phone, “I’ll have to get back to you.”

“But he’s got blue drool!” Lukas insisted.

Linda snapped her cell phone shut and went to to the small boy with blue bubbles on his lips, and thanked small gods for non-toxic paint. “All right, let’s get you cleaned up,” she said as she picked up Timmy. She nodded to her teaching assistant and said, “You’re in charge for a moment,” and marched to the bathroom. Just as she closed the bathroom door turned on the sink, Timmy threw up and her cell phone rang.

She picked it up and spoke a truth, “You’re a mess. I don’t know what I’m going to do with you.”

2 Responses to “turning blue by ingridfnl”

  1. jmforceton June 14, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Great-Another-devise,-creative-had-idea-to-for-get-an-out-interesting-a-flash.-scracth pad to decipher.

  2. juleshg June 20, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    It took me a while to figure out the dialog too but once I got it I thought it was very clever. As a mother who frequently has phone conversations while a little person pulls on my leg and trys to tell me a story I am suprised that I did not understand it immediately.

Leave a Reply

