hi, it’s me by ingridfnl

9 May

“Hello?”

“Hi, it’s me,” said Felicia into the phone.

“Hey, how are you doing? I was thinking about you,” the voice on the other end said. It wasn’t the voice Felicia expected. It was a deeper voice. Damn. Who was she talking to?

“Um. I’m fine. Busy week,” Felicia stammered.

“I was hoping you’d call,” the voice said. It was a gravelly voice. It made her knees weak. She should, she thought, know who this is. “I’d like to see you again.”

“Um… yes,” answered Felicia, cursing the night of drunken speed dating the week before. She’d ended up with five slips of paper with different men’s names and phone numbers, and had had a hard time associating the names with the faces she had blurred past. Maybe it was that guy with the slightly Mediterranean looks. Or the tall ginger fellow.

“I’d…” said the voice.

“I really enjoyed meeting you,” Felicia blurted. “I mean, it was fun…” What was she saying?

“Fun?” the voice answered, and then laughing said, “No one has ever said that to me before.”

“Well, it was a bit… strange,” said Felicia.

“Yes, well, these procedures are always uncomfortable. Now, I’d like to make a follow up appointment with you,” said the voice.

“Appointment?” she said.

“Yes, we need to finish what we started last week,” he replied. “It might be… fun,” he chuckled.

Then it occurred to her. It was her dentist’s voice.

Damn. “Let me get my agenda,” she replied.

2 Responses to “hi, it’s me by ingridfnl”

  1. juleshg May 10, 2010 at 1:33 am #

    I like the twist at the end of this. I can only imagine what the dentist is thinking when she calls an appointment with him fun. Personally I am dentist-phobic and can think of hundreds of things that I would rather do!

    • jmforceton May 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

      “I really enjoyed meeting you,” Felicia blurted. “I mean, it was fun…” What was she saying?

      My next call would be to find a new dentist. A real dentist would be recalling/fantasizing about this conversation at dinner parties for the next 50 years.

Leave a Reply

