den of iniquity by ingridfnl

25 Apr

“Hi, mom, I don’t think I’ll be able to get home for a few days. Can you send me some money,” said Abby, her sweaty palm gripping the telephone, a long line of other stranded travelers standing behind her. “Everything’s OK. They have cots we can sleep on, but I’d really love to get out of the airport. It’s a nice airport but I’ve been here for two days.”

“Are you OK? I’ve been so worried. When do you think you’ll be home? Where are you?” Marie battered her daughter with questions. Marie’s ex husband had been furious when he heard that she had let their 19-year-old go to Europe for a month. Now, with the delay of her return, he was livid and had been pestering her with calls.

He had called her the day before, “I can’t believe you’d just let her go with that boyfriend of hers. It’s like you’re setting yourself up to be a young grandmother,” he’d said.

Marie replied, indignant, “Because she has a higher chance of getting pregnant in Europe?”

“Look,” he’d replied, “We went when I was 20 so I know what kids get up to… We spent the entire time there stoned out of our heads…”

“I think that reduces chance of pregnancy not in…” Marie attempted.

“I can’t believe you just said that,” he replied, “I’m bringing this up at the custody hearing,” and with that, he’d hung up.

Ever since, Marie had been beside herself with anxiety for her daughter. And then the volcano had erupted and now her daughter was stuck in Amsterdam of all cities. Marie did trust Abigail. In fact she was often grateful that she had such a responsible, smart and trustworthy daughter. And she liked her boyfriend Bruce. He was a nice kid.

“Sorry kiddo. I’m just stressing here. Your dad is really mad at me for letting you go,” clarified Marie. “You ok?”

Abby replied, “Yeah. I’m fine. It’s just kind of chaotic. There aren’t any vacancies so we’re on these cots. I’m tired of waiting around in the airport. I was wondering if you could transfer some cash to my account? Just so I can get out of the airport? I’m kind of stuck.”

“Sure,” said Marie, “I’ll get to the bank this afternoon. But you’re OK? What are you doing?”

“We met some really fun Americans traveling too. They’re in a band so Bruce jams with them a lot. But we’re all really bored.”

At that moment, the woman in the phone  booth next to Abby wailed to her relative in Alabama, “I can’t believe that I am stuck in this … this den of iniquity!”

Abby and her mother both laughed, loud and long and Marie knew that Abby would be just fine.

4 Responses to “den of iniquity by ingridfnl”

  1. jmforceton April 26, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    “I can’t believe that I am stuck in this … this den of iniquity!”

    It’s not so bad. I’ve been to the Rijks Museum and the Van Gogh a number of times.

    • ingridfnl April 26, 2010 at 3:38 am #

      🙂 I live in Amsterdam. 🙂

      • jmforceton April 26, 2010 at 3:51 am #

        Whenever I was there, I always went to see Rembrandt’s ‘The Night Watch’. My all time favorite.

    • ingridfnl April 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

      Next time also check out the Escher museum in Den Haag and the FOAM gallery in Amsterdam. They’re both great.

Leave a Reply

