probability by ingridfnl

4 Apr

Her laughter broke the silence of the study area. Jon felt his face burn with embarrassment. His sister, Casey, clearly didn’t care about the faces looking over the cubicles glaring at them.

“Come on!” she shrieked, pulling on Jon’s arm. “You gotta see it! You’ll never believe it. Come ooon!”

“OK, OK…” whispered Jon. “Just let me pack everything up. Just wait… Go outside I’ll be there in a minute.”

“What,” she replied loudly, “you gotta bring your …hmm, let’s see…” She picked up one of Jon’s text books and read, “Applied Probability. Ah. Like anyone’s gonna steal this book? You can leave it. Come ON.”

Despite his sister’s increasing volume, Jon quickly stuffed his textbooks, notebooks and laptop into his bag and threw it over his shoulder. “Alright already. I’m coming! Jeeze Casey. This is a frickin’ library.”

As they left the study area, Casey looked behind her feigning shock, her volume set on ten. “Oh My God. It is a library. Byeeee library people! Have fuuun!”

They left the library Casey raced ahead of Jon. Casey could run in high heels like no one else he knew. He ran behind her his bags bumping up and down against his side. “Wait! Casey! What’s the rush.”

She looked back at him, “Wait til you see. It’s awesome. You’ll love it.”

As he caught up with her she turned around and leaned against a cherry red 1968 Dodge Charger.  “Well! What do you think?” she asked. “Sexy hunh.”

“Where did you get this?” he stammered.

“I bought it. Fair and square. It’s all mine.”

“All yours?” Jon replied, incredulous. “Bought it? Jeeze Casey. You don’t have any money. You can’t even pay your phone bill. How on earth…”

“Just you wait until I tell you. You’ll never believe it… Meanwhile, let’s go for a ride.” Casey unlocked the car, started the engine with a roar and then rolled down the window. “Why are you just standing there. You looked like a doofus. Get in! I’ll tell you everything.”

“What?” he stood rigid on the spot. He could not even remotely imagine where she’d gotten the money for this car. She raced the engine again, smoke pouring out from the exhaust.

Jon rushed around to the passenger side of the car and jumped in. As Casey squealed out of the parking lot she whooped, “Wooohoooo! We’re rich!”

“We’re what?” asked Jon, holding onto the dashboard as Casey swung the car into traffic.

“Rich,” she said, flashing him a smile. “I did it.”

“You what?”

“I won the lottery.”

Jon stared at her, incredulous. Over the years he had always preached her about the unlikelihood, the statistical improbability that the lottery tickets she faithfully bought would ever see a result. She had always ignored him, willing to go without supper before giving up her ticket habit.

“You what?” he repeated.

“I won! The lottery. And we’re going on vacation, a road trip.”

“We’re what?”

“You heard me. The luggage is in the back. We can buy stuff on the way.”

“But my exams…”

“We’re rich little brother. Rich! In 16 million ways!”

“How….”

“Probability,” she replied, “may have been against us. But luck… luck was in our favor. It’s time for an adventure,” she turned on the radio to a local station and turned up the volume.

As it sunk in that she was serious, Jon broke into a numb grin, and found himself speechless. And grateful for luck, not probability.

8 Responses to “probability by ingridfnl”

  1. jadamthwaite April 5, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    I really like her way way of telling him! And

    • jadamthwaite April 5, 2010 at 10:28 am #

      Um… that was odd… I don’t know how I managed to post that – I’m sure I didn’t press ‘submit’… Anyway, the rest of the sentence: I really like how the probability tied in with his studies – this story feels really well-rounded and neat. Casey in particular has a really strong voice, and you can really feel her excitement.

      • ingridfnl April 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

        I could too 😉 I almost bought a lottery ticket today (which I never do)…

  2. juleshg April 5, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    it seems like everyone is being ‘kidnapped’ for a well-deserved holiday but me!
    I like Casey’s spirit. She seems like a good influence on Jon who is entirely too practical.

    • ingridfnl April 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

      I liked her too… she took over the story actually. Poor Jon.

  3. jmforceton April 6, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Great rhythm and pace to the piece. By the time I finished reading this, I was running. I was out the door to buy some tickets before the librarian could catch me.

    • ingridfnl April 6, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      🙂 What a great, fun reaction.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. awarded by ingridfnl « the character project - April 18, 2010

    […] stories: Probability and […]

Leave a Reply

