i’m bored by ingridfnl

21 Mar

I’d like to dispel a few myths about death. The first being that it is not the end. Not that I am any great expert. I’ve only been dead a week.

My biggest problem is that I can’t actually figure out which side I ended up on.

Sure, everything is pristine white, the surface beneath me cushions me with warmth, conforming to my now seemingly perfect body, and I wish for nothing.

But you see, that is precisely the problem. I wish for nothing. I wish for nothing but wishing I wished for something.

And my perfect form holds no pride since everyone else here seems to have a perfect body here. They are… normal. I have talked with a number of other inmates, residents or whatever we are, but they are as perplexed as I am. No one seems to be impatient with the situation, but we are all a little disappointed if this is heaven.

But how could this be heaven? Is this, perhaps, hell? There are no pitchforks, no gnashing of teeth and no sense of guilt. So if this is hell, it is also a disappointment.

Between sleeping, talking about our former lives, speculating where we are, and wondering if we will ever be able to feel any strong emotions again, there is a sense of waiting.

I’ve surveyed the others and there doesn’t seem to be any pattern in our former employment, role in life or religious affiliation. Even those who were destitute in a their “real life” as we’ve taken to calling it are puzzled by this nowhere somewhere. You’d think that with our differences there would be some sort of conflict… but no. No one even becomes angry, judgemental or otherwise mean. It feels like an incredibly boring series of Big Brother.

Yesterday, someone suggested that perhaps we’re all in a coma or something. Maybe. The only thing I know is we are peaceful but bored. Bored. Bored bored bored.

4 Responses to “i’m bored by ingridfnl”

  1. jadamthwaite March 21, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    I really like the idea of an afterlife that is just… boring. And I also like the fact that no one really knows what’s going on… it’s a creepy idea; I can imagine it as the setting for an unsettling film.

    • ingridfnl March 22, 2010 at 5:48 am #

      it’s like waiting for godot without the “t”. 😉

  2. jmforceton March 21, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    No one even becomes angry, judgemental or otherwise mean. It feels like an incredibly boring series of Big Brother.

    Ingrid, tell me you don’t watch BIG BROTHER.

    Seriously though, another great, original, concept for a story with your usual excellent execution.

    BIG BROTHER? Tell me it’s not true.

Leave a Reply

