committed? by jmforceton

14 Feb

Amy could not help but wonder if she was making a mistake.

As she stood looking at her dress in the mirror, Suzanne, her maid of honor, knocked on the door and poked her head in. “Hey girlfriend need anything?”

“No I’m good, I think.” Her shoulders sank an inch.

Suzanne walked in and sat down. ”You’re worried.”

“No, Yes, No not really.” As she straightened her shoulders just a bit. “I know Jimmy’s for real. I knew it the first time I saw him. Its just that I know things are going to get complicated.”

“Well you don’t need to worry about that today.”

“True.” Amy walked across the room and sat on the bed next to Suzanne and starting talking, slowly at first. “A couple of weeks ago I played in a pick-up game with a lot of the girls from the women’s soccer team I used to play on. Tracy had almost all of them on her friends list. It’s been 11 years already since then. I was the 17 year old kid then, most of them were 20 something and this woman Jean was 35. Back then only Bobby and Anne were married. Now half of them are on husband number two and only 4 don’t have kids. Jean played and her mother and 96 year old grandmother along with her daughter Renee and her little girl all came to watch, five generations, all still live around here. Anyway, since then I friended all of the players I didn’t already have, even Renee. I’ll tell you about her and her dad sometime, a really sad story.” A long pause, Suzanne didn’t say anything. “Don’t you think it’s sorry some of the things you see the married girls posting about. Bon Jovi concerts, some Farmville game, can’t wait to go out with the girls next month, and some of the single girls are worse, what they had for dinner last night, the third, three year old B movie they watched this week. Anyway that’s not me,” louder, “it just can’t be me.”

Suzanne shifted in her chair smirked and said “I kind of like Bon Jovi.” Amy threw a pillow at her head.

Amy was animated now and Suzanne let her talk. “You’ve seen Jimmy’s stuff on Facebook. He’s at level 6000 in Mafia Wars and he’s proud of it. My brother told me it would take at least a couple of hundred hours to get to that level.” Shaking her head imperceptibly she added, ”I haven’t played a video or online game since I left my ESPN job and went to that organic farm in New Zealand three years ago.”

The thunder of Harleys and some smaller bikes in the parking lot outside her room made both of them smile at each other. “That’s got to be Jimmy and the guys. I really do like the idea of the bridal party taking the bikes to the reception. I’ll need the fresh air by the time the ceremony is over.” Amy got up, walked across the room peeked through the curtains and sat on the bed again. “That first time I saw him 4 years ago, I was on vacation with Jill and we were just walking out of the Jardin des Tuileries when we saw the taxi hit the Mini in the middle of the Place de la Concorde. Instantly this tall, dark and handsome guy, yelling at everybody in English, jumped out of the back of the taxi and helped the mom who had hit her head on the windshield. Just the way he took charge as people got out of their cars to help with the dad and the two kids. They were all ok by the time we made it across the traffic and then the three of us went to that little café and had coffee and talked for an hour. He was on leave from Afganistan. And then to run into him again last year here in Boston crossing Commonwealth but wearing a suit and looking sooooo good.”

Suzanne got up, “You’re going to make me cry. When am I going to meet my guy?”

“Maybe today. Oh, by way, yesterday I was online and found his LinkedIn profile. His quote was “You can only be true to one person.”

Suzanne,” awwwwh that’s so sweet.”

“But it ended in a question mark”

There was a quick three knocks on the door as Amy’s Dad said, “Showtime.”

They both got up, looked in the mirror quickly and stepped to the door. “No, leave the helmet in here. I’ll have somebody get it for me when we leave.” And they walked out.

6 Responses to “committed? by jmforceton”

  1. ingridfnl February 14, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    The virtual world stepping in the real world was a great observation… I love how it calls her judgment into question…

  2. jmforceton February 15, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    Thanks Ingrid. I think, for better or worse, the virtual world is quickly becoming a significant part of the real world.

  3. jadamthwaite February 15, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    The virtual world adds an interesting dimension – which, I agree, is a nice observation. I also like the weight given to the question mark – such a little thing with such a significance.

  4. phoenix.writing February 21, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I kind of liked the question mark–like he’s thinking about it and working through his uncertainties just as she is, only he’s doing it online while she’s got her maid of honour to talk to. Hopefully, they’ll work their way towards answers once they’re married–even if he keeps dragging that virtual world in, lol. ^_^

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. number talk by jmforceton « the character project - February 28, 2010

    […] to “Committed?” and “Monolithic” […]

  2. “answered questions”, paris, may, 2004 by jmforceton « the character project - March 14, 2010

    […] Links – week 9  “Pregnant? Thoughts” , week 8  “Number Talk” , week 7  “Monolithic” , week 6  “Committed?” […]

Leave a Reply

